New Year, New Things

A new year tends to promote a spirit of self reflection and is a great opportunity to re-focus. So rather than think about specific resolutions or goals, I like to pick a few focus areas and build upon them throughout the year. One of those focus areas for me this year is trying new things.

After a couple years with the “real world” under my belt, I finally feel like I’m settled into a routine. And routine is definitely my comfort zone! But what’s the fun in living life inside that bubble? Personally I believe that moment you become comfortable is the perfect time to shake things up. I know that’s not easy! But think back to some of your biggest accomplishments or most exciting experiences… they probably started with at least a smidgen of fear or anxiety. That’s what makes the leap so worthwhile.

With that in mind, I’ve been looking for ways to add new things to my regular routine. One of my great challenges in life is having a lot of little ideas, and not always seeing them through. I know I’m not the only one who has said I’m going to sign up for a gym, start reading before bed, or refinish a bookshelf only to find myself sucked into social media and catching up on The Bachelor in my spare time. We only have so many hours in the day, but with a little focus and commitment there’s plenty of time to check some of those things off our lists! By putting my ideas into words for you all to see, I’m hoping I’ll have the sense of accountability I need to kick them into gear. This is why I’ve chosen to try one new thing every month in 2017 – and write about it, of course.

I can’t wait to dive in and share all of these new experiences with you, starting with trying a cycling class in January. For those of you that know me, you know that is quite a leap. I encourage you to jot down some ideas, big or small, and put them into action this year. I assure you there’s never a perfect time to start something new, so now is as good of time as any! Whether it’s once a week, once a month, or just a couple of times this year, do something you’ve never done before and see how you feel. I’d love to hear your ideas and new experiences along the way!


6 thoughts on “New Year, New Things

Leave a Reply

